71 pages 2 hours read

Zadie Smith

The Fraud

Fiction | Novel | Adult | Published in 2023

A modern alternative to SparkNotes and CliffsNotes, SuperSummary offers high-quality Study Guides with detailed chapter summaries and analysis of major themes, characters, and more.

Parts 3-4

Chapter Summaries & Analyses

Part 3: “Volume 3” - Part 4: “Volume 4”

Part 3, Chapter 1 Summary: “Kensal Lodge, July 1834”

In 1834, William and Eliza host a literary salon at Kensal Lodge. Dickens celebrates his publications, which William facilitated by introducing him to a publisher.

Part 3, Chapter 2 Summary: “The First Insatiable”

At the literary salon, the other writers celebrate William. They ask where his wife is, and Eliza and William evade these questions. William’s daughters are watching the salon from the staircase.

Part 3, Chapter 3 Summary: “The View from the Stairs”

Eliza joins the girls on the staircase. She identifies the men in the salon for the girls. She asks after their mother, who is still crying and not eating. Eliza promises to stay with the girls as long as they need her.