76 pages 2 hours read

Tiffany D. Jackson


Fiction | Novel | YA | Published in 2017

A modern alternative to SparkNotes and CliffsNotes, SuperSummary offers high-quality Study Guides with detailed chapter summaries and analysis of major themes, characters, and more. For select classroom titles, we also provide Teaching Guides with discussion and quiz questions to prompt student engagement.


Teacher Introduction


  • Genre: Fiction; thriller; young adult 
  • Originally Published: 2017 
  • Reading Level/Interest: Lexile 620L; grades 9-12 
  • Structure/Length: Divided into 18 chapters; approximately 416 pages; approximately 10 hours, 37 minutes on audiobook
  • Protagonist/Central Conflict: The protagonist, Mary B. Addison, was convicted of killing a baby when she was just nine years old. The story unfolds years later as Mary lives in a group home, trying to navigate a world that is against her while questioning the truth of her past. The central conflict revolves around Mary’s struggle to clear her name, the complexities of her relationship with her mother, and her efforts to build a future for the child she is carrying.
  • Potential Sensitivity Issues: Themes of violence and murder; child abuse, including sexual abuse; systemic failures of the justice and foster care systems; mature and potentially disturbing content

Tiffany D. Jackson, Author 

  • Bio: Born 1982; American author known for her powerful and thought-provoking young adult novels; studied film at Howard University; earned a master’s degree in media studies from The New School University in New York; explores complex social issues in her work; celebrated for her compelling, deeply emotional narratives and the way they address challenging topics with sensitivity and insight
  • Other Works: Monday's Not Coming (2018); Grown (2020); Let Me Hear a Rhyme (2019) 
  • Awards: NAACP Image Award nomination (2017)